Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
'05 CBR1000RR, '18 CBR1000RR SP, '21 Ninja 1000SX
404 Posts
Is there something wrong with the OEM tank bag?

·
Registered
404 Posts
There's probably nothing wrong with it, but I myself prefer tank bags that attach via a tank-ring such as the ones mentioned above from Givi and SW-Motech. Every tank bag I've owned with straps has ended up scratching the paint of the fuel tanks I mounted them on. Tank film would have probably prevented the scratches, but at the time I wasn't aware of its availability.

As for myself, I've been using an SW-Motech EVO Daypack for several years now, and it hasn't scratched either of my N1K's fuel tanks. The SW-Motech system has the bottom of the tank bag sitting about a 1/4-1/2 inch above the fuel tank. So long as you have the release cord secured to the bag (via a snap), no part of the tank bag will touch a painted surface.
Good point. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Well, it looks nice, but that’s about it, in my opinion. (I have one, brand new, that I may put up for sale here)

1.That tray isn’t big enough for a regular sized iPhone XS, which is what I had intended to use it for. Also, I’ve read about the Velcro lid blowing open at speed. Either way, kind of useless for me.

2. Not to keen on the way it mounts.

3. I’ve got the GPR V5 on order, which will prevent the bag from being used. The way it hooks on the front of the tank would also prevent the use of the OEM or Evotech gps mounts
So, what are you using for Tank Bag? Do you have a solution for this?

·
Registered
404 Posts
I ordered the OEM one a couple of days ago and it's arriving next week. If it's too small, I'll return it.
SW-Motech sounds like a good one to consider.

·
Registered
404 Posts
I've also been using the S-W Motech EVO Daypack, which is expandable from 5 to 9 litres (approx 10.5 to 19 pints).