Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I normally ride in Rider mode with F power and KTRC at 1. Before I bought my '21, I test drove a '20 that was quite inclined to power wheelie through the first 3-4 gears. I now assume he had the TC completely off when he tossed the keys to me.

Stuck in the office atm, but wondering if we can get the front wheel off the ground in KTRC 1? Looking forward to trying after work. . .

·
Registered
619 Posts
My 2020 does not want to wheelie without turning off traction control. It’s been too long ago that I changed the settings, so I’m not even sure what they are called. I know I have power set to the sportiest level and traction control turned on.

I’m not a wheelie expert, but my 2011 Ninja 1000 from tire was off the ground many times without me trying.

·
Registered
201 Posts
The pre-electronic Gens once Ivanized are absolute wheelie monsters. Huge fun! :p

Reactions: Ninja_1000

·
Registered
201 Posts
My 2018 will wheelie with TC on but the front tire only comes up a few inches before nanny says "no".
And if it's like others I've tried, it's pretty rude about how it slams it back down. Especially if you clutch it up.

·
Registered
201 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts
I have a 2021 that I ride almost exclusively in the stock Sport mode. It will absolutely power wheelie in first gear. Get going about 30-ish mph and romp the throttle and the front wheel will come up a few inches before the TC kicks in and sets it back down. TC is also pretty gentle about it, at least in my limited experience.

In 2nd gear you might be able to get a small power wheelie. I've only ever had the wheel come up on a hard shift from the top of first. So I guess that's technically a clutch up? I've never actually tried to power it up in 2nd.

TL;DR: yes, it'll power wheelie, but it won't be a big one.

·
Registered
2 Posts