Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I just took my new 1000SX out for it's first day run. I'm obviously in the break in period but there's a lot I've learned about it just in this days riding I thought might be of value to some people. I have a lot to say with this review but I'll try and keep things as brief as I can without waffling too much.

(I was going to try and do a youtube video review, but I don't think I have the skills for entertainment - so sorry for the wall of text :) )

Please note (disclaimers?)

I'm going to be deliberately very critical - not from the perspective of putting the bike down, but instead of guessing what's relevant to you - I'll blurt out all my thoughts unfiltered and let you sift through what's relevant or of value to you. I'll do the criticism up first, and then what pleased me afterwards.

I have no significant prior experience of Ninja's (except for 2 demo rides of the 2019 model). All my experienced is comparing with VFR's.

Also - I was not convinced on buying this bike. In many ways I have been a reluctant purchaser. My wife told me to buy a new bike (no joke) more than 12 months ago. She did not like the fact that I was taking our daughter on a older bike that had no safety features (no ABS, no traction control) and told me I had to get a new bike.​
(For the last 18 months I have been hanging out hoping that Honda would release a new VFR with updated electronics, but no luck. But during that time I have been doing a lot of research (some on this forum) - and it seems most VFR refugees switch to the Ninja 1000. After a lot more investigating it seemed as though it was the best compromise. I was ready to buy 6 months ago but wanted to see what they released with their new generation. Glad I did!)