Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On my 2020 Ninja 1000sx, I'm having some serious problems when shifting from first to second gear. The bike shifts into Neutral from first therefore reving the engine up significantly. First couple of times I thought I was doing something wrong, but I wasn't. I've been riding for more than 40 years and never had this problem. The bike also shuts off, when taking of from a standstill ,uphill, even with a slow release of the clutch and with extra throttle. I need to contact Kawasaki or my dealer for a response to these issues.

·
Premium Member
2014 Green N1K
226 Posts
Have you tried adjusting the gear lever? Loosen the nuts on the gear lever rod and shorten the distance so that the gear lever lowers below the foot rest.

I have switched to GP shifting on my bike and really like it. I rarely miss a shift when pressing the lever down to get to the next higher gear.

·
Registered
303 Posts
This is the first time I have heard of these issues on a 2020. It should still be under warranty so if it were me, the first place I would go is a Kawasaki Service Center. The Kawasaki Quick Shifter linkage is a bit different that the typical solid linkage. I have had neither of these issues with my 2020 (I know that is no help!).

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Have you tried adjusting the gear lever? Loosen the nuts on the gear lever rod and shorten the distance so that the gear lever lowers below the foot rest.

I have switched to GP shifting on my bike and really like it. I rarely miss a shift when pressing the lever down to get to the next higher gear.
Thank you Fast Ninja, I will try adjusting the gear lever. Ride safe.(y)

·
Registered
19 Posts
Hi All, interesting post. Do you think a 2020 1K sx can be flipped to the GP shifting or would the QS not allow such a flip, due to push / pull settings?