Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner

Michelin Road 5 tire.

8K views 19 replies 11 participants last post by  rcannon409 
#1 ·
What is your opinion on the Michelin Road 5 tire for my 2019 N1K?

#2 ·
I was a big Michelin Pilot Road fan and ran them on VFRs and Ninja 1ks. Up until Road 4s, I loved them for great mileage and great grip in the wet. With the Road 4s the front cupped badly well before they worn out. Same with Road 5s. I ended up running a Road 3 front with a Road 5 rear. But...
Last year I discovered Dunlop Roadsmart IIIs and I'm on my 3rd set now for 2 reasons: no more premature front tire failure and a better ride. By better I mean: an even more light neutral feel in corners, (BTW, comparing /55 profile rear tires here.) and a more comfortable ride. I hadn't realized how harsh Roads felt until I tried the RS3s. Much less road vibration comes through for a more pleasant ride. Similar grip as Roads with maybe a tad less mileage but for me the RS3s were a real improvement over Road 5s.

#4 ·
Cupping, also known as scalloping, is a normal wear pattern that develops on the side of motorcycle tyres as the tyre's rubber is worn away and is caused by the extreme forces that come in to play when the bike is leaned over in a corner.

If you look vertically down at you tyre, you will see cupping develop both sides of the centre line of the tyre. You can also feel the cupping if you slide your hand along the tyre, in the direction of rotation.

When it becomes really bad, you will feel some vibration / oscillation when banked over in a corner. This is not a good feeling when cornering in the rain.

Worn suspension and steering components will also accelerate the cupping. I have found it more prevalent on the front tyre, but it does also happen (to a lesser degree) on the rear tyre.

Here is an image I found on the web. You can see the cupping and associated lumps either side of the tyre's centre line.

#6 ·