Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all the experts.

I've done a few searches but haven't found anything so far on this topic.

But I'm a noob so it could be that.

So, I have a 2018. The one thing that annoys me a bit is the instrumentation, as in strong sunlight it's a bit hard to read.

Do options exist for brighter and/Or differently coloured lights to enhance visibility?

Thank you all.

·
Registered
601 Posts
It's LED instrument panel. The light comes from the LED display not necessarily from a "light bulb" illuminating the gauges. The only option is to paint the lower part of the windshield black to keep the gauges under a shade most of the time. Or somehow put the H2 SX TFT display (I don't think that's ever been done by anyone but theoretically it's possible).

·
Registered
698 Posts
Electronic instrument panels (including the Ninja 1000's) are setup to communicate with their native ECU. As such, they are not interchangeable.

In the video below, a guy summarizes why the H2SX panel is not working on his N1K:

·
Registered
52 Posts
I don't know what some of you guys will think of this, but like I did with my 650 Ninja, I hated how sunlight made the screen so hard to see, so got some flat black spray paint and sprayed the inside of the windscreen. It looks professional due to how the paint disperses over the surface so smoothly, and it also makes the silver Ninja logo jump out against the black and looks pretty cool. For myself, it's not been an issue in terms of seeing what's ahead either.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Hi all the experts.

I've done a few searches but haven't found anything so far on this topic.

But I'm a noob so it could be that.

So, I have a 2018. The one thing that annoys me a bit is the instrumentation, as in strong sunlight it's a bit hard to read.

Do options exist for brighter and/Or differently coloured lights to enhance visibility?

Thank you all.