Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In regards to cornering and turning how much difference would 24.5/4.0" rake/trail on the 2019 vs 24/3.9" on the 2020 make for turn in with both sporting a 190/50 rear tire? Does half a degree in rake and 1/10th inch of trail really matter all else being equal?

Would the difference be as drastic as adding a 190/55 rear to the older models?

·
Registered
273 Posts
I have no experience in comparing the different tires sizes. As for the change in the rake/trail, my answer would be yes/no. some will say it is a major improvement and others will say it is a minor improvement. It does make a difference but to what degree only the masses who have direct experience with both can determine for themselves. I think the 2020 probably turns in a bit easier/faster than previous year models, but it does not have neutral in lean in my opinion. As for how it compares, others with experience would be better to give their opinions.

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have the 190/55 on my 15 and would like to ride a 2020 for comparison. The 190/55 made a fairly significant difference IMO.

Reactions: Avintage69 and Bc2

·
Registered
273 Posts
I have the 190/55 on my 15 and would like to ride a 2020 for comparison. The 190/55 made a fairly significant difference IMO.
What is the significant difference? Effort to get it leaned or effort to keep it at lean, or both? Are you using the same body position and is the difference you mention primarily in counter steering or weight shifting?

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Effort to get leaned for sure. I am using the same body position I used before switching rear tires. I am trying to get in the habit of leaning my upper body into the direction of the lean more.

I'm not a very experienced rider and am watching a lot of videos and trying different methods presented in the videos.