Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there too much chain slack in my chain if I can push the chain all the way up on the bottom to the rubber swingerarm cover that protects from scratches? I am no mechanic, but I think I measured almost 2"?? Let the chain hang down and then pushed it up. I can make it touch the swingarm cover near the exhaust. Bike is on the side stand, no one is sitting on it.

The bike has 148 miles on it. Could it need to be done already? Seems like no matter what my measurement is on slack, it should never touch that cover?

·
Registered
69 Posts
Yes is too much slack. My bike after 200 Miles was loose too. Normal is betwine 0.8 to 1.2 of inch. More than 1.2 is too much. You need to adjust the chain.

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That can be done on the side stand correct? I saw a video of a guy who did the N1K but he did his on a stand. My stand doesn't come in until next week. So I need to do it on side stand.

Also need to get a torque wrench. I love buying tools. :)

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hey thanks!!! You really helped me out. Chain is better. How often do you need to do this? I noticed another bolt loose on the bike when doing this. Is this bike going to be like this all the time or is this just the new bike kinks getting worked out? Can't believe I had to tighten a chain with 150 miles on the bike.

·
Premium Member
545 Posts
It's normal for a chain to stretch more in the beginning... I just adjust my chain at every oil change somewhere between 1,000 and 2,000 miles. I don't notice an abnormal number of loose bolts... haven't lost any.... I would let the dealer know, maybe the guy who uncrated your bike and set it up was new or hung over or something?

·
Registered
11,262 Posts