Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Recently picked up an 87 1000r in almost immaculate condition. However the gas tank is rotted inside. Anyone in here have any leads on a gas tank for this bike?
Wheel Tire Vehicle Automotive lighting Automotive tire

Premium Member
2021 Ninja 1000 SX
Unfortunately I have no knowledge about gas tank replacement/repairs, but just wanted to say beautiful looking bike. That's a great purchase.
Cheers and happy hunting for the tank solution.

Reactions: rcannon409

Registered
Recently picked up an 87 1000r in almost immaculate condition. However the gas tank is rotted inside. Anyone in here have any leads on a gas tank for this bike? View attachment 32485
No idea on where you may be able to get a gas tank, but I know that I've heard of a lot of people fixing their rusty gas tanks on older bikes; it does of course depend on exactly what is wrong with it, but generally the issue is that rust has formed inside the tank, so the process is removing that rust (a mix of physical and chemical removal), then coating the inside of the tank to protect it and seal any pinholes. Something else to consider is the hardware: the petcock and pickup tubes. These can also corrode and be a source of debris.
I would think that if the outside of the tank looks as good all around as it appears in your picture, you should be able to save the tank.

Registered
Ebay is your friend, but something that old will be a hard find. Even if you get lucky, whatever you might find likely won't be in any better condition than the one you already have. You'd be better off trying to recondition yours. Eastwood Auto Restoration Supplies - Eastwood Auto is a good source for working on older vehicles.

Registered