Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, new here. 250 miles so far on 15' N1. Good lord it's torture keeping it under 6K RPM! So I'm noticing on shifting up, when in 2nd to go into 3rd, I have to completely take off pressure from shifter with foot to engage into 3rd. It happens I'd guess 1 in 4 attempts.

My buddy says it's b/c it's new and needs to wear in.

Anyone else experienced this?

Will it all of a sudden fix itself with 'break-in'?

Is this something Kawi will replace under warranty?

I want to get the slipper clutch installed that the 16' model has. Does anyone know what the part/parts are, and cost of part/parts to put slipper assist in my 15'?

Thank you for input! LOVE THE BIKE. Coming from 14' Yama Super Tenere and KLR650. Wanted something faster of course. Test drove a zx14r, and it scared the **** out of me / could only get throttle 30% open before letting off. And I've been riding for over 5 years. So decided on the N1 and it's perfect. Would like to see Yama FZ1 come out with Traction control and ABS, but so far still in Butterfly Love with my N1.

·
Registered
50 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
mine has a slight glitch shifting from second to third also.i plan to switch to full synthetic oil soon and to see if that smooths it out a bit.

·
Registered
711 Posts
I went with a synth blend, and it solved the chatter & shifting issue I had (which was VERY VERY minor)

Reactions: Cazes7

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Also look into the clutch issues discussed at length here. May not be the cause but there is definitely a chance.

After drilling the clutch basket on my '14, shifts are flawless.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Really hard to say without seeing / riding the bike / watching you ride the bike....