Suspension settings - Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum
 18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 Old 10-21-2019, 04:08 PM Thread Starter

Suspension settings

I'm a casual rider that doesn't race or scrape pegs in the twisties. I weigh around 240lbs and ride solo. I don't want to spend money on upgrading the suspension unless I have to.

I have a 2015 I bought as a new leftover last year. The only thing I've done to the suspension is mess with the rear springload adjuster a little.

What settings would you recommend for the stock suspension for me? I'm a total newb at this this stuff so please try to put your suggestions in layman's terms that I can understand. TIA

2015 Ninja 1000-Metallic Spark Black/Metallic Carbon Grey, Evotech Tidy Tail, Puig Windscreen (light smoke), Pirelli Angel GTs (190/55 rear), Sargent Seat, Kawasaki Hard Bags, Throttlemeister Throttle Lock Bar Ends
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 36 Old 10-21-2019, 04:15 PM

Find a reputable shop that can help you set the suspension sag with you on board. That's key. A friend can do it for you as well but you may need two friends to hold the bike up while you sit on it and someone measures the sag. From there, increase rebound damping on the rear and front until you find the right setting of comfort and control. It won't take you long to fine tune the damping. A little goes a long way when it comes to damping adjustments.

Personally for me, I weigh 185 with gear. I have the springs set at factory setting. Then I actually turned DOWN the damping a both F & R from stock setting by 1/4 turn. That's it. It still feels taut to me yet more compliant. I ride fast in the twisties, but I also ride a lot on less than perfect pavement so I want that compliance built in. The N1k suspension is already taut right out of the showroom so it's probably easier to make it too stiff than it is to make it compliant and still maintain control.
post #3 of 36 Old 10-21-2019, 04:17 PM Thread Starter

Quote: