Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner

Suspension front end wobble

8K views 31 replies 13 participants last post by  rcannon409 
#1 ·
I thought I would post here since I have not solved my problem.

I have a wobble in the front forks when accelerating rapidly around the 80-90+MPH. I have gone with a higher profile rear tire as many others have.

So far I have tried slightly stiffening the upper spring preload while also slightly increasing the rear preload. This helped but the wobble is still there.

I am not an expert and have read a lot about setting up my suspension. I do not have a second set of hands so I have not done that yet. I believe I will need to but do any of you have an idea on where I should look. At first I thought I had too little weight on the front end but then after thinking of the higher rear tire I was not sure if I now have too much rake.

Thanks to all that have some insights here...

#2 · (Edited)
What is your weight? I see you have agt's, but how old are they? How many miles on them?

I found my agt a spec tires to be a complete motherfucker to set the bead on. It would have been very easy to not have a 100% beaded up tire.

Is this wobble there at all times, or just at that 80-90 spot?

#3 ·
The rear tire is about 6 months old and the front is about 3. I weigh 163 lbs. I have put about 1500 miles on the pair. The wobble is just on hard acceleration at higher speeds. As soon as I get off of the throttle it tracks perfect.

#4 ·
Has this wobble always existed with these tires or did it just develop? An improperly mounted or non-concentric tire can certainly cause this problem. So too could an internal defect. If you can get the bike on a lift, spin the tires and check their run-out.

Tire pressure, tire balance (did you lose a weight?), damaged rim, looseness in the steering head, wheel bearings, or swingarm pivot.

The always-excellent Kevin Cameron just did a piece on this: