FI Fault Code and Light - Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum
 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 05-07-2018, 12:21 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 15
Garage
FI Fault Code and Light

Put slip ons on and immediately go the FI fault code and red light on the dash (2013 model); does anyone know how to eliminate this problem?

Thanks!
jekrumpe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 05-07-2018, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Avintage69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Call East Texas home.
Posts: 2,352
Garage
You have, or had the exhaust servo correct? I'm assuming the slip on did away with that?
If so then your code probably has to do with that.
Think there are a few plug only kits out there that trick the bike into thinking it still installed. Or look into Ivan's Preformance ECU tune.

6-25-2016, New 2015N1K, now w/38000 and updated regularly
Ivan's, Barringed up, Yoshi tail tidy, Akra header to a modified underbelly exhaust and Urban Brawlers, Profile bi lens LED projectors, white / amber switchback marker / blinker.
Avintage69 is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 05-07-2018, 02:10 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 15
Garage
That is correct is has the servo and I had to disconnect it. Is there any harm in just ignoring it?
jekrumpe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 05-07-2018, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by jekrumpe View Post
That is correct is has the servo and I had to disconnect it. Is there any harm in just ignoring it?
No harm but if you get another issue, you won't know since the light will be on all the time.
rcannon409 and Avintage69 like this.
luciano136 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 05-07-2018, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8,070
If you went as far as adding a slip on, it's crazy not to have Ivan reflash the bike. The machine will run like it's supposed to and it will also take care of this light issue.

Ivan's Performance Products

2012 Ninja 1000
rcannon409 is online now  
post #6 of 12 Old 05-07-2018, 05:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 15
Garage
Thanks rccannon409!
jekrumpe is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 05-07-2018, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: NE
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by jekrumpe View Post
Thanks rccannon409!
If I remember right, when I put my Yoshi's on I just took the cables off the servo. The servo moves but doesn't know it is not doing any thing. That's just my memory and I can't remember yesterday never mind six years ago.

ATGATT

2013 BMW K1300S 30 YR Edition

Past bikes
1972 Honda XL100
1974 Suzuki TM250
1974 Honda Elsinore250cr
1984 Honda Sabre v45
1986 Honda Sabre v65
1990 Harley 1200 Sporty
2003 Yamaha Vmax
2009 KTM 450 XCF -stolen
2011 Ninja N1k
2007 Honda 250 Crf250X
MarkOne is online now  
post #8 of 12 Old 05-07-2018, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: SE TN
Posts: 4,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
If I remember right, when I put my Yoshi's on I just took the cables off the servo. The servo moves but doesn't know it is not doing any thing. That's just my memory and I can't remember yesterday never mind six years ago.
Thats the samething i done MarkOne and mine worked perfect.

2012 N1000 spark bl and gray ABS
Tail tidy
Urban brawlers
V/h DB killers sitting on the shelf collecting dust
Givi rack and topcase
Puig smoked wind screen
oem gel seat set
Rascal grafiks tank pad
Grip puppies
SW Motech ninja 1000 quick connect gps mount with navi bag
2014 air filter and holey bottom plate
Go Cruise Throttle lock
Ivans ECU flash
Bridgestone S21's
Mark59 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-07-2018, 08:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8,070
If you want to remove that motor, and you don't want a flash, or to do anything else...

Google "servo buddy" They cost about 50.00, or the Google search will give you the plan for building your own.

You just unplug motor, and plug the resistor in. The light goes out . I doubt it's anything more than a 1.00 resistor, but It does come with a plug

I think that's THE secret....Leave the motor, as is, and let it think its doing it's job (you removed the cables), or, remove and deal with the error.


Like this one
https://www.ebay.com/p/Woodcraft-Ser...452419fff5e456

2012 Ninja 1000
rcannon409 is online now  
post #10 of 12 Old 05-07-2018, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Zaph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 407
I've used the SkutrNet on a few bikes where I pulled the servomotor.

You don't have to pull the servo and you can just disconnect the cables, but I would rather pull the whole unit off and chip it like this. It's a tiny plug.

There is a chip in there, it's not just a resistor or shorted circuit. I know because I accidentally melted one open once.
rcannon409 likes this.

Last edited by Zaph; 05-07-2018 at 09:01 PM.
Zaph is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome