N1K Curious - Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 02-11-2020, 05:26 PM Thread Starter

Cool N1K Curious

Hello!

Great forum lots of good info.
A quick bit about me. I'm in the Calgary Alberta area. Current main ride is a 2014 Zx6r. In the stable is a 2000 SV650 track bike, 1982 Yamaha seca cafe project, Ducati 1098s and a CRF250x.
I have been riding for 25 years and commute as much as possible in the summers as its 110 Kms round trip. I also tour when I can too. I have taken the zx6 as far as LA with no trouble. I am looking to move to a 2020 N1K as it seems to be the best way to add a pillion without losing too much sport. The two person push up is what gets tiring for me. I'm not tall so sportbikes are actually fairly comfortable. I will still have the 1098 if I really need to hoon it up.
Has anyone made this same jump? I will want to put the N1K on a diet as soon as parts make that an option.

Cheers!
RobF likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 02-11-2020, 05:56 PM

Welcome and good luck with your choice.

We've been riding around the same amount of time. However, I limit myself to one bike at a time. My prior bike was a 2007 Triumph Speed Triple and modded it more for performance and upgraded the suspension. I now have a 2019 N1K.

I can't be any happier. It has more comfort and way more power. Plus wind protection coming from the Speed Triple is so much better. I would have never considered taking my wife on the Speed Triple, but would with this one. However, as others may say, they don't find the bike great for pillion. Yet, I don't know if things have improved for the 2020 model.
I do commute to work a few times a week, but my passion is canyons and all day rides. So far the weather hasnt cooperated for a whole day but it's nice in the canyons. But I do miss the Triple with the rearsets and Ohlins. Nonetheless, I still don't regret my purchase.
post #3 of 18 Old 02-11-2020, 06:13 PM