Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner

New member, but some of you know me

5K views 36 replies 10 participants last post by  jjscsix 
#1 ·
Some remember me from the other forum. I had a 2011 Ninja 1000 for three years. The 2020 upgrades have me interested in another one. That conversation will continue in other threads.

For those that don't know me, I started riding in 1971, roadraced a few years in the early 80s. I'm into fast cars and motorcycles. Was into fast boats for a while until I realized I wasn't as rich as I acted.

Just turned 67 and cannot get past step one of the twelve step program. I don't think I have a problem with speed. I'm in denial! I retired the end of last year and am trying to prove everyone wrong who said "you can't ride every day". I think I'm at about 33,000 miles combined on the three bikes since the beginning of this year.

#2 ·
It made my day to see your name here. I'm glad you found the place! A few of us followed Jay here after rider forum banned him. This place took off, after that, and I cant even think of the last time I visited .

I also believe you covered at least 30k in all those years between 2011 and now....it wasnt as if this year was unique.

#3 ·
Good to see you too Roland. It took me a while to figure out what happened. The other forum suffered a slow, painful death!

Actually I was 20-22,000 miles the past few years. The other fun statistic is that I have never put less than 15,000 a year on a daily driver car. I can look it up, but think I'm around 4,000 miles on my car this year. I've gone entire calendar months without putting gas in it. And as you know, I'm a huge car lover too!

#4 ·
Welcome, nice to hear. What cars are in your garage currently?

#8 ·
Well, I have a nice car, but not terribly fun. I have a 2017 BMW540 M-Sport. It was/is more of just my commuter car. I sold my last fun car, a 2009 Z06 seven years ago because it was sitting in the garage most of the time while I was out riding.