Kawasaki Ninja 1000 Forum banner

Really Interested In This Bike!

4K views 18 replies 10 participants last post by  OCLandspeeder 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, thanks so much for the warm welcome!

I've been riding a 2005 Yamaha FZ1 for about the past 8 years, and am really, really curious about the N1K. Have any of you come from a gen1 or gen2 FZ1? If so, what was that like?

Also, I've been reading some reviews and they all seem to say that the engine gets buzzy around 6,000- 8,000 rpm. Can that be cured? Is it something you can dial out?

And lastly, if I do get one, what would you say the first 3 mods I should look at doing right away?

Thanks team, looking forward to your responses and having a spirited conversation!

#2 ·
hey there.. Don't get discouraged by the lack of responses to your post. I myself was tempted to back out without replying, but I remember being in your position.

There are MANY threads out there regarding "necessary" mods. Off the top of my head, people will say
1. change tires and upgrade rear to 55 profile
2. Ivan's tune (2016 and older)
3. Exhaust

Personally, I've done none of the above. My order of operations was:

1. Add KQR bags/rails
2. Install RAM mount for phone
3. Install Sargent seat
4. Wire in voltmeter/usb charger and garage door opener

Main reason I haven't done any of the first three I mentioned is simple. My old bike was a 1990 ZX11. I loved it, it was fantastic and I thought I'd never upgrade, however I grew tired of messing with the carbs every season, along with other maintenance items due to age/wear at 30k miles. Insert my '16 N1K.
By comparison this bike is light, nimble, smooth, and fast. Not that my ZX11 didn't scream, but this one transfers much more torque to the ground, at least by my butt dyno's measurement. I am for sure going to do the Ivan's, but doubt I'll spend for full header/exhaust setup. May go with Urban Brawlers just to change the look.